News Alert
Police Need Help Find Missing 10-Year-Old

West County Chamber to Honor Educators, First Responders

The chamber's Celebrate Community awards dinner will be held Feb. 20.

The West Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce will honor educators, first responders and service members next week at its annual Celebrate Community awards dinner. 

The chamber has nominated teachers in elementary, middle and high schools to be named Educator of the Year in the county. In addition, the chamber will honor a school administrator, firefighter, police officer, sheriff's deputy and member of the military. 

The awards banquet will be held Feb. 20 at The Hotel at Arundel Preserve from 6-9 p.m. For tickets, call the chamber at or register online at westcountychamber.org.

Here are the nominees: 

2013 Educator of the Year - Elementary School

  • Risa Flor – Hebron Harmon Elementary School
  • Jane Friend – Van Bokkelen Elementary School
  • Karen Kerr – Manor View Elementary School
  • Sarah Kyte – Waugh Chapel Elementary School
  • Patrick LaVelle – Brock Bridge Elementary School
  • Paul Price – Odenton Christian School
  • Robin Suda – West Meade Early Education Center
  • Lydia Teal – Crofton Elementary School

2013 Educator of the Year - Middle School

  • Kelly Conklin – Crofton Middle School
  • Mary “Marie” Hartman – Old Mill Middle School, South
  • Kelly Lewis – Arundel Middle School

2013 Educator of the Year - High School

  • Rosemary Asquino – Meade High School
  • Tasha Badwal-Tobias – Ruth Parker Eason School
  • Jackie Becker – Arundel High School
  • Ruth Goldstraw – Old Mill High School
  • Tyler Shores – Mary E. Moss Academy

2013 Administrator of the Year

  • Susan Barrie – Van Bokkelen Elementary School
  • Jennifer Billings – West Meade Early Education Center
  • Steven G. Lottes – Mary E. Moss Academy
  • Jennifer Ruef – Odenton Elementary School
  • Lorainne Shorter – Crofton Middle School

Firefighter of the Year

Rayburn “Ray” H. Smallwood – Fire Chief, Maryland City Station, Anne Arundel County Fire Department

Police Officer of the Year

Stacey Overbay – Detective, Anne Arundel County Police Department, Western District

Sheriff’s Deputy of the Year

Brian Andre – Sergeant, Office of the Sheriff, Anne Arundel County

Military Service Member of the Year

Airman 1st lass Liam Tupper, Cyber Transport Technician, United States Air Force


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »