News Alert
Most of Maryland Under Severe Thunderstorm Watch

3 Seahawks Recognized As National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Alexandra Bartlett, Amelia Hallworth and Jun Lee are three of the 15 Anne Arundel County students selected to be semifinalists.

Fifteen students from six Anne Arundel County public high schools—including three from —were recently named semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship competition.

South River’s Alexandra Bartlett, Amelia Hallworth and Jun Lee were selected from more than 1.5 million juniors among nearly 22,000 high schools who scored highly on the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, according to an Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) release.

Last year, from Case Western University as one of 4,800 to earn financial aid from the national organization.

Students from Annapolis, Arundel, Broadneck, Old Mill and Severna Park high schools also received the national recognition, making them eligible as finalists in the competition.

“Half of our clusters are represented on this year’s list. It’s a clear sign that the success of our students is far reaching,” AACPS Superintendent Kevin Maxwell said in the release. “I am proud of these students for their diligence in their studies—they are now reaping the benefits of their hard work.”

The release stated that about 90 percent of the semifinalists will advance to “finalist” status based on their academic record, SAT performance and principal recommendations. Once officially a finalist, local students will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit Scholarships worth $2,500 each.

Additionally, about 1,000 corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards will be given throughout the country along with another 4,800 college-sponsored awards provided by nearly 200 colleges and universities, according to the release.

Below is a complete list of National Merit Scholarship semifinalists at Anne Arundel County public high schools.

Annapolis High

  • Sarah Baker
  • Cailin Oakes
  • Samantha Poyer

Arundel High

  • Katherine Langdon

Broadneck High

  • Bridget Derksen
  • Evan Uthus

Old Mill High

  • Xuefei Nou
  • Daniel Shade
  • Eric Stoker-Spirt

Severna Park High

  • Julia Downing
  • Eric Manning
  • Michelle Nie

  • Alexandra Bartlett
  • Amelia Hallworth
  • Jun Lee
Joey L September 13, 2012 at 12:54 PM
Congrats to all those that received this Merit!!!! And a special WOOT WOOT to my fellow Seahawks!!! Congrats guys/gals!!!!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »